Friday, April 8, 2016

St Peters emerged champions in Schools T20 championship 2016

St Peters College of Bambalapitiya emerged champions in Under 19, Inter schools Twenty 20 championship as they beat St Aloysius College, Galle in the finals by a margin of 38 runs. The final was held at the heart of southern province Galle International Stadium, it favored St Aloysius College in term of the home support.

St Aloysius who beat Trinity College in the semi finals got opportunity to play in a 1st division final from many years. However, they were failed to fulfill expectation of the home crowd with a disappointing run chase.

St Peters College made a commanding total of 162 for 8 in quota of 20 overs with help of Chandula Jayamanne's 49 and  Vinu Mohotti's 40. Praboda Guruge star for Aloysius with  4 wicket haul for just 24 runs.

Aloysius only managed to score 124 for 8 in their quota of 20 overs inreply to secure the victory for Peterites.

Navindu Nirmal scored 36 &  Gihan Niroshan  un beated 27 for Aloysius while, Peterites top scorer Chandula Jayamanne shined with the ball by picking 3 for 24.

Score Summery

St. Peters College 162/8 (20)
Chandula Jayamanne 49, Vinu Mohotti 40, Praboda Guruge 4/24
St. Aloysius College124/8 (20)
Navindu Nirmal 36, Gihan Niroshan 27*, Chandula Jayamanne 3/24, Taneesha Weerakoon 2/18, Chathura Obeysekara 2/13

At Galle Int. Stadium - 20 Over Match
(Toss: St. Peters)